Skye Walker

skye faerie glen spirals-01

As much as I wanted to stay several nights in many places around Scotland, I needed to make my holiday dreams fit into about four weeks of travel. So even though I would have loved to spend a week or more on the Isle of Skye, I could only give it three nights and two full days.

On my first full day, I took a small tour that covered all the famous highlights of Skye: the Old Man of Storr, the Quiraing, Kilt Rock, Dunvegan Castle, and Sligachan. All of these were quick “photo op” stops without much time to explore.

Where we did get extra time to wander, however, were places I really wanted to spend time investigating.

The first such place, the Fairy Glen on the west side of the Trotternish Range, is a delightful collection of rock outcroppings that hide an area of wee stone spirals. I suspect these have been laid out by modern folk for a lark, but I enjoyed seeing them anyway.

skye fairy glen caste

Overlooking these circles stands a tall natural stone tower known as Euan’s (or Ewen’s) Castle. It took some climbing just to get to the circles, and the path up the “castle” was steep, narrow, and low to either side, making it a real challenge for someone like me with a healthy fear of heights. But I climbed it. Not to the very top, but high enough to feel proud of myself.

At another stop, Dun Beag Broch, I challenged myself again to get up a rocky hill and then up the ruins of a stone tower (broch) to explore. My knees had definitely been getting a workout all day anyway, but my legs carried me up slowly but surely.

skye fairy pools falls

Our longest stop took place at the Fairy Pools north of the Black Cuillins. The driver gave us an hour to trek down the hill and back to the pools. I ended up stopping halfway because I could tell I was tired enough to struggle with the climb back out. But as I’d found a beautiful waterfall closer to the beginning of the walk, I chose to return there to explore and take photos, giving myself plenty of time to climb the final hill and to rest before the tour minibus returned to pick up the group.

Talk about a very full day! But I saw the places I wanted to see AND checked off a few impromptu hiking goals at the same time!

 

 

Leave a Reply

