Restless Legs

golden

In her later years, my mother had developed Restless Leg Syndrome, and it drove her crazy. Legs twitching or, as she put it, “talking loudly” to her in the middle of the night, she lost many a night’s sleep over this medical condition.

I’m finding lately that I have a different sort of Restless Leg Syndrome: I’ll be sitting at work or at home, working or reading, and the urge to get out for a walk or a hike starts building up inside me. I start planning which route I might take around the neighborhood or, in more severe cases, where I might go and get in a late afternoon or evening walk to satisfy the need.

As I’ve mentioned before, walking has become a vital part of my life and well-being, but in the past couple of months, it has turned into an even greater compulsion. I feel like I can’t go to bed at night without at least a walk around the block, and when I’ve got things on my mind, nothing helps but to stretch my legs and get a change of scenery.

So when I finished the day’s baking for tomorrow’s farmers’ market, I was itching for a walk. I had plenty of errands to run, but as a couple of them involved a drive, I decided to drive downtown, get out and walk to a few of my errands, drive to the bank, and then head out to the arboretum for a leisurely stroll to see what fall colors might be popping out.

On such a beautiful early fall day, with the sun shining and the breeze keeping the 70s from feeling too warm, it felt wonderful to get out of the car and walk down the road, wandering into maple groves and stands of larches. Most of the early fall color seen around the arboretum right now comes in shades of green and gold, but a few elusive smatterings of red and orange lurk at the edges of fields.

Once I’d walked nearly a mile (in sandals, not the best choice), I felt more settled and ready to go home and relax for the rest of the day — until my evening walk, of course!

 

 

Leave a Reply

